Skip to main menu (press "ENTER") Skip to country menu (press "ENTER") Skip to page content (press "ENTER")

HOW TO VOTE in Ireland

The European elections will take place in Ireland on 24 May 2019. Irish and other EU citizens resident in Ireland and aged 18 or over can vote provided they register before the deadline, which is 14 days before polling day.

The elections are due to take place on Friday 24 May 2019 in Ireland (although this date is subject to confirmation by the Houses of the Oireachtas). Local elections will be held on the same day.

Voters in Ireland have to vote in a specific polling station based on their home address.

If you are registered to vote, you will receive a polling card, which will have the address of the polling station where you can go to cast your vote. Polling stations will be open between 7.00 and 22.00. If you have not received a polling card, you should contact your local authority.

For more information, please visit the Citizens Information’s website

In Ireland you have to be at least 18 to vote in the European elections.

Voters will elect 13 MEPs in 2019, two more than in the 2014 elections.

The Register of Electors is published on 1 February each year and comes into force on 15 February. The final date to register your name on the Register of Electors is 25 November prior to the year in which the election will take place. If a person is not included in the Register of Electors currently in force, they may apply for entry in the Supplement to the Register. Entry to the Supplemental Register of Electors closes on the 14th day prior to polling day. In the case of the European elections taking place on the 24 May, the Supplemental Register will close on the 10 May.

You can visit to see if you are registered to vote and find the forms to apply in case you are not.

It is advised to bring some ID such as driving license, PPS card, or passport.

Postal voting is available only in a limited number of circumstances and subject to an application to vote by post before 25 November each year.

Proxy voting is not possible in Ireland.

Yes, you can if you have been permanently resident in Ireland since 1st September 2018. But you must register to vote before the 10th May (14 days before polling day) at the latest. If you’re an EU citizen resident in Ireland who wishes to register their vote in Ireland, you can download the EP1 from in order to be added to the Register of Electors.

In Ireland there are three constituencies: Dublin; Midlands North West; and South.

For the 2019 election, the European Parliament Constituency Committee has recommended that the State be divided as follows among those constituencies for the 13 Members of the European Parliament representing Ireland:

A four-seat Dublin constituency comprising the counties of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin; and the city of Dublin.

A four-seat Midlands-North-West constituency comprising the counties of Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath; and the city of Galway.

A five-seat South constituency comprising the counties of Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow; the cities and counties of Limerick and Waterford; and the city of Cork.

These constituencies are subject to confirmation by the Houses of the Oireachtas, which is likely to be in the coming months.

Ireland uses a form of proportional representation called the single transferable vote, which means that voters rank the candidates, as many or as few as they wish, in order of choice. Candidates are numbered 1,2,3 and so on.

To be elected, a candidate needs to receive a minimum number of votes, known as the quota. If the votes obtained by any candidate surpass the quota, they are immediately elected.

All surplus votes obtained by an elected candidate (the difference between their vote and the quota) are then transferred to other candidates according to the preferences expressed by voters.

Votes are recounted and other candidates who clear the quota are also elected. Candidates with the fewest votes are eliminated with their votes transferred to the voters’ second preference. The transfer of votes and elimination of candidates continues until all seats are filled.

As soon as an election order is made by the minister responsible, candidates for election must register within deadlines that will be outlined in the election order. Lists of candidates and their substitutes in each constituency are published following the deadlines, although information may be available sooner on political parties’ websites.

Under the electoral system in Ireland, no minimum threshold for election is established.

How can I vote in other countries?

The information by country is available in English and in the language(s) of the selected country